Federal Reserve

The Federal Reserve, also known as the Fed, is the central banking system of the United States. It was created by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a stable and flexible monetary and financial system.

The Fed’s responsibilities include conducting monetary policy to promote maximum employment, stable prices, and moderate long-term interest rates; supervising and regulating banks and other financial institutions to ensure the safety and soundness of the financial system; and providing payment and settlement services to banks and other financial institutions.

The Federal Reserve System is composed of 12 regional Federal Reserve Banks located throughout the country, a Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., and a Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) that is responsible for implementing monetary policy. The Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board serves as the public face of the Fed and is responsible for communicating the Fed’s policies and actions to the public and to Congress.


The Federal Reserve is considered an independent agency within the federal government. Although it was created by Congress, the Fed is not a part of the executive, legislative, or judicial branches of government. Instead, it operates as a quasi-public institution, meaning that it is subject to some government oversight, but it also has a significant degree of independence in carrying out its duties.

The Fed’s Board of Governors is appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate, and the Chairman of the Board is also appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. However, the Fed’s monetary policy decisions are made independently of the President and Congress to avoid political influence, although the Fed is required to report to Congress and to testify before Congressional committees. Additionally, the Fed is audited by the Government Accountability Office (GAO) to ensure that it is carrying out its duties in a responsible and transparent manner.

The Law

The Federal Reserve was created by the Federal Reserve Act, which was signed into law by President Woodrow Wilson on December 23, 1913. Therefore, President Woodrow Wilson was the President of the United States when the Federal Reserve was created.

In 1913, the Democratic Party controlled both the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States Congress. Democrats had won a majority of seats in the House in the 1912 elections, and they had also won a majority of seats in the Senate, giving them control of both chambers of Congress. It was under this Democratic-controlled Congress that the Federal Reserve Act was passed and signed into law by President Woodrow Wilson.


The performance of the US economy under the Federal Reserve has been subject to debate and interpretation, as the economy is influenced by a multitude of factors, including government policies, global economic conditions, technological advances, and societal trends.

However, many economists credit the Federal Reserve with contributing to the overall stability and growth of the US economy over the past century. The Fed’s monetary policies, such as adjusting interest rates and implementing quantitative easing measures, have helped to regulate inflation, stabilize financial markets, and mitigate the impact of economic downturns. The Fed’s supervision and regulation of banks and other financial institutions have also helped to ensure the safety and soundness of the financial system.

There have been periods of economic recession and financial instability during the Fed’s existence, such as the Great Depression of the 1930s and the Global Financial Crisis of 2008-2009. However, many economists argue that the Fed’s actions helped to prevent even more severe economic consequences and laid the groundwork for eventual recovery.

Fed Announcements






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *